HEA drug provision repeal – committee vote tomorrow

Via DRCNet:

On Tuesday, July 19, the U.S. House Committee on Education and the Workforce will be voting on H.R. 609, the College Access and Opportunity Act of 2005. Rep. Rob Andrews (D-NJ) will introduce a crucial amendment to H.R. 609 that would repeal the federal ban on financial aid for students with drug convictions. If passed, the Andrews amendment would fully repeal the HEA Drug Provision, which has denied aid to more than 160,500 students since taking effect in 2000.

This is the second time in seven years and the first since May 2000 that a House committee will be forced to reconsider the law. Other proposals have suggested that the law only be scaled back, meaning thousands of students would still lose their financial aid. If your member of Congress is on the Committee for Education and the Workforce, please call him or her today! Members, the areas they represent, and their phone numbers are all listed below.

Education and the Workforce:
Republican Members (27)

  • John, A. Boehner, 8th-OH (Westchester/Troy Area) 202-225-6205
  • Thomas E. Petri, 6th-WI (Fond du Lac/Oshkosh Area) 202-225-2476
  • Howard P. “Buck” McKeon, 25th-CA (Santa Clarita/Palmdale Area) 202-225-1956
  • Michael N. Castle, At Large-DE 202-225-4165
  • Sam Johnson, 3rd-TX (Richardson Area) 202-225-4201
  • Mark E. Souder, 3rd-IN (Fort Wayne Area) 202-225-4436
  • Charlie Norwood, 9th-GA (Augusta/Toccoa Area) 202-225-4101
  • Vernon J. Ehlers, 3rd-MI (Grand Rapids Area) 202-225-3831
  • Judy Biggert, 13th-IL (Willowbrook Area) 202-225-3515
  • Todd Russell Platts, 19th-PA (York/Carlisle/Gettysburg Area) 202-225-5836
  • Patrick J. Tiberi, 12th-OH (Columbus Area) 202-225-5355
  • Ric Keller, 8th-FL (Orlando/Eustis/Ocala Area) 202-225-2176
  • Tom Osborne, 3rd-NE (Grand Island/Scottsbluff/Kearney/McCook Area) 202-225-6435
  • Joe Wilson, 2nd-SC (Beaufort/West Columbia) 202-225-2452
  • Jon C. Porter, 3rd-NV (Henderson Area) 202-225-3252
  • John Kline, 2nd-MN (Burnsville Area) 202-225-2271
  • Marilyn N. Musgrave, 4th-CO (Loveland/Sterlin/Greeley/Longmont Area) 202-225-4676
  • Bob Inglis, 4th-SC (Greenville/Spartanburg/Union Area) 202-225-6030
  • Cathy McMorris, 5th-WA (Spokane.Colville.Walla Walla Area) 202-225-2006
  • Kenny Marchant, 24th-TX (Irving Area) 202-225-6605
  • Tom Price, 6th-GA (Marietta Area) 202-225-4501
  • Luis G. Fortuöo, At Large-PR 202-225-2615
  • Bobby Jindal, 1st-LA (Metairie Area) 202-225-3015
  • Charles W. Boustany, Jr., 7th-LA (Lafayette Area) 202-225-2031
  • Virginia Foxx, 5th-NC (Clemmons Area) 202-225-2071
  • Thelma D. Drake, 2nd-VA (Virginia Beach/Accomac Area) 202-225-4215
  • John R. “Randy” Kuhl, Jr., 29th-NY (Corning Area) 202-225-3161

Democrat Members (22)

  • George Miller, 7th-CA (Concord/Richmond/Vallejo Area) 202-228-2095
  • Dale E. Kildee, 5th-MI (Flint/Saginaw/Bay City Area) 202-225-3611
  • Major R. Owens, 11th-NY (Brooklyn Area) 202-225-6231
  • Donald M. Payne, 10th-NJ (Newark/Elizabeth/Jersey City Area) 202-225-3436
  • Robert E. Andrews, 1st-NJ (Haddon Heights/Woodbury Area) 202-225-6501
  • Robert C. Scott, 3rd-VA (Newport News/Richmond Area) 202-225-8351
  • Lynn C. Woolsey, 6th-CA (Santa Rosa/San Rafael Area) 202-225-5161
  • RubÚn Hinojosa, 15th-TX (McAllen/Beeville Area) 202-225-2531
  • Carolyn McCarthy, 4th-NY (Garden City Area) 202-225-5516
  • John F. Tierney, 6th-MA (Peabody/Lynn Area) 202-225-8020
  • Ron Kind, 3rd-WI (LaCrosse/Eau Claire Area) 202-225-5506
  • Dennis J. Kucinich, 10th-OH (Lakewood/Parma Area) 202-225-5871
  • David Wu, 1st-OR (Portland Area) 202-225-0855
  • Rush D. Holt, 12th-NJ (West Windsor Area) 202-225-5801
  • Susan A. Davis, 53rd-CA (Sand Diego Area) 202-225-2040
  • Betty McCollum, 4th-MN (St. Paul Area) 202-225-6631
  • Danny K. Davis, 7th-IL (Chicago/Broadview Area) 202-225-5006
  • Raþl M. Grijalva, 7th-AZ (Tucson/Yuma Area) 202-225-2435
  • Chris Van Hollen, 8th-MD (Rockville/Mt. Rainier Area) 202-225-5341
  • Tim Ryan, 17th-OH (Youngstown/Warren/Akron Area) 202-225-5261
  • Timothy H. Bishop, 1st-NY (Coram/Southampton Area) 202-225-3826
  • John Barrow, 12th-GA (Athens Area) 202-225-2823

The wonderful folks at SSDP have been working extremely hard to get this bad law repealed completely. Help them out. If you are in the district of one of the representatives above, call them right now.
You can also use this Action Alert.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.